Home Sweet Home

It seems much too soon I am back in sunny Halesowen but good things can only last so long.

Alas, my holiday is over however, whilst I may not be spending tonight propped up against the side of a car watching films as the evening heat washes over me I have memories to cherish. We had some awesome times in Henley, a town so quaint it really wasn’t built for teenagers, but all the same we found plenty to do.

The first full day started off with a trip to Warburg Nature Reserve, which was a lot easier said than done if we’re honest. Now the trip advisor had warned us it was down a single lane track however, we weren’t quite expecting it to be so….bumpy…We had the awful luck of meeting too many other cars on the way there and back, at which point I learnt that Dunham’s reversing is….interesting…I think we still may have some of the hedge stuck in parts of the car…That being said we made it all in one piece to find the reserve deserted. We were all alone and the nature walk was so peaceful under the morning sun peeking through the clouds. It was honestly pretty damn lovely!

Returning to the campsite it had started to get hot. I mean real hot! So the pool was the only answer! Now after about 20 mins in the pool I decided to go for a sun bathe – work on that tan – but stupid old me decides it’s a good idea to fall asleep….My chest has since gone a decent shade of lobster….That evening was again spent playing games, eating dominoes pizza and watching ‘London Has Fallen’ – which if you’re wondering is a bad ass film – Gerrard Butler is a boss!

It wasn’t until late last evening we went for a walk around the little fishing lake attached to the campsite – it was literally overrun with little bunnies and a family of ducklings – pretty much cuteness overload! Such a lovely way to spend the dying light of the night though.

Just like that it was time to come home. A lovely few days spent away with some lovely company. I must say a massive thanks to Dunham to driving me around, I know I joked about the hedge episode earlier but she is honestly an awesome driver. Also thanks for trusting me to come camping and especially putting up with my indecisiveness about what to buy the girlfriend! I know this will be the start of many adventures!

I hope you all have a lovely day and that you make the most of every day! Thank you so much for reading and until next time;

Arriverdechi Readers. X


I haven’t been everywhere – but it’s on my list

= Susan Sontag =



Leave a comment